A few of my favorite eats

I love eating and I’m a firm believer that one of the best ways to experience a new locale is to eat your way through it. Somewhat miraculously, even with seemingly endless varieties of food to try, I’m about 15 lbs lighter than when I first came to Korea. I digress, but to me it’s somewhat further proof that the American food system relies on crazy additives/chemicals/added sugars and salts.

Anyways, my students, host family, family, and friends always ask me what the best (or strangest) foods are that I’ve had here. It’d be impossible to pick just one. Inspired by the awesome food posts by fellow Korea ETA Gabi on her blog, here are just a few of the amazing things I’ve eaten over the past year in Korea and Asia overall. I’ve tried to keep it more limited to things that you probably would have a harder time finding in the West, but I did also have some amazing Western/fusion food as well.

I’m notoriously bad at bringing out my camera at the right moments, but here’s a sample of what I did capture.

About Jonathan Rice

Fulbright Fellow, Pitzer College alum, and communicator passionate about telling stories that make an impact.

Posted on 07/07/2014, in Fulbright South Korea 2013-14 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Everything looks amazing and much more “Korean” than what I’ve been eating, haha. I only had bingsu for the first time yesterday! I’ve gotta do better in my second year

    • Hah thanks Gabi! I actually avoided posting pictures of the non-Korean foods I’ve eaten, but there are quite a few delicious dishes there too. I didn’t have any good photos of Vatos or Gusto Tacos, but both of those are more than worthy of a food photo collage. Glad you discovered bingsu though, that stuff is amazing. I’m still somewhat convinced that if someone turned bingsu into a USA chain it would make a ton of money and win a lot of hearts in the process.

Your thoughts?

