On Steve Jobs

I really thought that I would be writing about my National Day holiday trip to Shanghai for this post, but some news has given me something else to write about.

As you probably already know, Steve Jobs died today. He was 56.

When my Chinese roommate, George, told me the news, I was still in bed. I jumped up.

“What? Steve Jobs is what?” I said, not sure if I had heard him correctly.

“He passed away” said George.

And so I went onto my Macbook to check… Steve Jobs was an incredible innovator, salesman, and businessman. And everyone will be saying that today, tomorrow, and when reflecting upon him. But what made his work so amazing was not just his ability to reform the computer, but the way that he changed the entire modern perception towards music, film, and design. His ability to bring together the best minds and then force the best work out of said minds (in a sometimes harsh fashion) led to great innovations. He reformed the way sales presentations are done; what other company had every media outlet waiting for his keynote presentations?

And his insights on life were particularly fruitful as well; his speech at Stanford’s Commencement is by far one of the best I’ve ever heard. Google it.

A lot of people have a lot to say about the death of Steve Jobs, so I will confine my remarks to this so far. Let’s remember his life, his spirit, his drive and use that as inspiration to push ourselves to live our lives to fullest and to innovate for the world.

May your family and friends find comfort in this difficult time. Rest in peace, Steve.

About Jonathan Rice

Fulbright Fellow, Pitzer College alum, and communicator passionate about telling stories that make an impact.

Posted on 10/06/2011, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your thoughts?

